Getting to Know : Timothy Graf Dy Guani (www.recclubvan.com)

Every week I will be interviewing a friend/entrepreneur. I will be asking 9 hard hitting questions so you the viewer at home can know a little more about them. First on the docket is Timothy Graf Dy Guani, founder of Rec Club Vancouver.

Out To Spike 6v6 Tournament
“Rec Club Vancouver is about bringing people together through sports. I have found that people start to lose touch after university and one of my main goals is to get people back in a game within a fun and competitive environment.” – Tim Dy Guani

I first met Tim at the SRC during a volleyball drop-in at UBC. We built a lifelong friendship over the years. I have fond memories of going to Fall Out Boy, Whistler (x2), volleyball and the Greek system. His first day on the slopes was not pretty but he refused to give up. With great determination he made it successfully down the bunny hill.

Tim loves to meet people and organize events. He has recently started organizing sporting events with great success. Lets get to know the man behind http://www.recclubvan.com

Tim Dy Guani
1) Yo Tim, where are you from and what’s your story?

I grew up in the Philippines and came to Vancouver to get my undergrad at the University of British Columbia. Loved every bit of it and decided to stay for a while longer!

2) Would you like to share a memory of us?

YOU bringing me up to a black run on my FIRST TIME UP THE HILL. Having to flag down a snowmobile to bring me down.  GOOD TIME!

Tim didn’t conquer the black run that day but the bunny hill was his domain.

 

3) Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Not too sure to be honest. I tend to take life as it comes and I am always open to new possibilities – living in a different city somewhere would be ideal since I love to travel.

4) What kind of music do you like?

My favorite era of music would have to be the 90’s. It really brings back great memories and is just such feel good music. I do listen to all types of genres though and indie is another favorite.

5) Do you have any advice to teenagers?

Make the most out of every moment as cliche as that sounds. Try to grab every opportunity and make sure you are not too scared to live life.

6) If time and money weren’t an issue what would you do?

If time and money were not an issue I would definitely spend my life traveling and visit all the continents. I would also throw a huge party for all my friends because I love planning events and being a host.

Go Explore the World
7) What are your favorite foods?

I don’t have any particular food favorites – I am a big foodie so I am open to trying a lot of new things.

Tim Dy Guani
8) Would you rather ride a horse, fly a plane or conduct a train?

I would love to fly a plane, be up high and see the world from a different point of view.

9) If you could live in any point in history, when would it be? What would you be doing?

I don’t think I would choose a different point in history – I am happy with my life now and only look forward to making the most out of it!

There you have it folks, Timothy Dy Guani in a nutshell. Happy as a clam and ready to mingle.

His next events are:

Out for Kicks: 5 on 5 Soccer Tournament

UBC Warren Fields

$120/Team of 8

  • Saturday, March 29, 2014
  • 12:00pm – 6:00pm
  • UBC Warren Fields (map)

Out to Spike: Indoor 6’s Volleyball Tourney

UBC Osborne Gym

$180/Team of 8

  • Saturday, May 3, 2014
  • 10:00am – 10:00pm
  • UBC Osborne Gym (map)
Leave a Reply

